Friday, 13 October 2017

UFO - The Salentino Cuts, album review

Safe, Familiar, Fine

I am enjoying this UFO covers album, the vocal of original member Phil Mogg of this long-standing band – formed in 1969 – carrying all the cuts with authority. Familiars like Break on Through (To the Other Side), The Pusher and Mississippi Queen benefit from his deep growl of a voice and its otherwise fine rock tone; less familiars like Mad Season’s River of Deceit and well-known but oblique in this company Bill Wither’s Ain’t No Sunshine are pleasant surprises in this vocal respect. Otherwise the actual respect is in the faithful if also safe musical renditions with little changed apart from, perhaps unexpected, an often slowing down of pace. The full track list is:

01. Heartful Of Soul
02. Break On Through (To The Other Side)
03. River Of Deceit
04. The Pusher
05. Paper In Fire
06. Rock Candy
07. Mississippi Queen
08. Ain't No Sunshine
09. Honey-Bee
10. Too Rolling Stoned
11. Just Got Paid
12. It's My Life

No comments:

Post a Comment